British Hairdressing Awards 2019

December 29th, 2019

December 29th, 2019

Hairdressers Journal International’s British Hairdressing Awards 2019, sponsored by Schwarzkopf Professional, saw the stars of the hair industry out in force last month, celebrating the creative talent that has made Britain the envy of the hairdressing world.

Gathering at London’s Grosvenor House Hotel, HJ’s Executive Director, Jayne Lewis-Orr, welcomed guests and commented that, “To enter and achieve finalist status in these awards requires determination, commitment and skill in order to produce these beautiful images that will set the trends and be revered the world over.”

She continued, “And it also takes bravery – to put your work in front of the most talented and creative judges who spend hours over two separate days to deliberate over the anonymous images independently.”

Host for the evening for the second consecutive year was Rylan Clark-Neal who ensured smooth running with as much hilarity and charisma as ever, while sponsor, Schwarzkopf Professional, treated guests to a Celebration of Colour with the show giving the audience inspiration in abundance.  Music came from The Hoosiers with their hits Goodbye Mr A and Something About Ray wowing the crowd.

Robert Eaton

First-time nominee, Robert Eaton, took home the most prestigious award of the night, British Hairdresser of the Year and thanked his hairdressing team, Wella Professionals, as well as his dad who inspired him with a book by Trevor Sorbie when he was growing up.

The Hall of Fame had three new entries this year: Robert Eaton, Marcello Moccia and Michelle Thompson.

The night also saw winners announced in a host of regional and specialist categories.


Eastern Hairdresser of the Year
Nathan Jasztal & Zoe Jasztal, Silhouette Du Barry

Nathan Jasztal and Zoe Jasztal

Nathan Jasztal and Zoe Jasztal

London Hairdresser of the Year
Andy Heasman, RUSH

Andy Heasman

Andy Heasman

Midlands Hairdresser of the Year

James Earnshaw, Bad Apple Hair

North Eastern Hairdresser of the Year

Alexander Turnbull, Alexander Hair and Beauty

North Western Hairdresser of the Year

Jon Wilsdon, TONI&GUY Deansgate

Northern Ireland Hairdresser of the Year

Sharon Malcolm, Sharon Malcolm Hairdressing

Scottish Hairdresser of the Year

Jason Hall, Jason Hall Hairdressing

Southern Hairdresser of the Year

Andrew Smith, Andrew Smith Salons

Wales & South West Hairdresser of the Year

Martin Crean, Mode Martin Crean

Martin Crean

Martin Crean

International Collection of the Year

Jacky Chan, Oscar Oscar Chadstone, Melbourne, Australia


Trend Image of the Year

Federico Patelli, TONI&GUY Victoria

Afro Hairdresser of the Year

Rick Roberts, Rick Roberts

Artistic Team of the Year

Mark Leeson

Avant-Garde Hairdresser of the Year

Sophie Springett & Hayley Bishop, TONI&GUY North Audley Street

Men’s Hairdresser of the Year

Jim Shaw & Daisy Carter, Essensuals Billericay

Jim Shaw and Daisy Carter

Jim Shaw and Daisy Carter

Newcomer of the Year

Alex Morton, Jamie Stevens Kensington Salon

Schwarzkopf Professional British Colour Technician of the Year

Sophie Gibson & Jonathan Turner, Hooker & Young



Posted In

, , , , , ,


, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

By Emma Rutherford

Comments are closed.